| Feature | Shakepay Card | Crypto.com Visa | MetaMask Card |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Prepaid Visa | Prepaid Visa | Debit Mastercard |
| Issued by | Peoples Trust Company, under licence from Visa; Shakepay distributes and administers the card (source, read 2026-10-31) | Digital Commerce Bank, offered by Foris, Inc., under licence from Visa (source, read 2026-11-01) | MetaMask (Consensys) |
| Where available | All provinces and territories (source, read 2026-10-31) Shakepay: “Available to all Shakepay customers in all 13 provinces and territories.” | All provinces and territories (source, read 2026-11-01) Neither the Canadian card page nor the Canadian fees article lists a province exclusion, and the CSA list shows no jurisdiction limit for Foris DAX CAN ULC. Confirm in the app before applying. | All provinces and territories (source, read 2026-11-03) No province exclusions are stated. Confirm in the app before applying. |
| Annual / monthly fee | No annual fee (source, read 2026-10-31) | Midnight Blue free; Ruby Steel CA$6.99/month or CA$69.90/year, or a CA$650 12-month CRO stake; Royal Indigo/Jade Green CA$39.99/month or CA$399.90/year, or a CA$6,500 stake; Icy White/Rose Gold CA$65,000 stake; Obsidian CA$650,000 stake (source, read 2026-11-01) | Virtual card free (the Metal card, US$199/year, is not offered in Canada) (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Foreign-currency fee | 3% (Base), 1.5% (Bright), 0% (Blue) (source, read 2026-10-31) The cardholder agreement lists a 3% foreign exchange charge; the status discounts are in Shakepay’s help centre. | Midnight 2%; Ruby free on the first CA$700 a month then 2%; Jade/Indigo free on the first CA$1,400 then 2%; higher tiers no fee (source, read 2026-11-01) Ruby and Jade/Indigo allowances effective September 1, 2026. | Not stated for the Virtual card on the product page (source, read 2026-11-03) The page lists “No foreign transaction fees” for the Metal card. |
| ATM | No Shakepay ATM fee listed; ATM operators may charge. Limits: $500 per withdrawal, $1,000 a day; physical card only; no rewards on ATM withdrawals (source, read 2026-10-31) | No Crypto.com ATM fee listed in the Canadian fees article; ATM bank fees may apply. Withdrawal limits: C$700/day and C$7,000/month (Midnight), C$1,500/day (Ruby), C$2,500/day (higher tiers), C$15,000/month above Midnight (source, read 2026-11-01) | Not applicable: the Virtual card is digital-only (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Card issuance / replacement | Free to get; virtual card at once, physical card mailed within about 21 days (source, read 2026-10-31) | Physical card: Midnight C$4.99; Ruby C$39.99 for monthly subscribers under 6 months (free otherwise). Replacement: Midnight C$10, other cards C$70 (source, read 2026-11-01) | Virtual card free and activated in the app (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Rewards | 1% back in bitcoin (1.5% with Blue status) (source, 2026-10-31) | 0% (Midnight) to 4.5% (Obsidian) in CRO, on capped monthly spend (source, read 2026-11-01) | 1% back in mUSD on the Virtual card (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Paid in | Bitcoin (BTC) (source, read 2026-10-31) “Cashback rewards are only issued in bitcoin.” | CRO (Cronos token) (source, read 2026-11-01) “CRO Rewards are paid in CRO Token to your Wallet App.” | mUSD (a US-dollar stablecoin) (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| When paid | After the purchase settles, typically 1–14 days, at the BTC/CAD rate when paid (source, read 2026-10-31) | Shortly after an eligible purchase, to your Token Wallet (source, read 2026-11-01) | Not stated on the product page (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Tiers | 4 tiers (see profile) | 7 tiers (see profile) | Free, in the MetaMask app |
| Custody | Custodial (source, read 2026-10-31) Rewards land in your Shakepay bitcoin balance; you can withdraw them to your own wallet. | Custodial (source, read 2026-11-01) Rewards are paid to the Crypto.com App wallet held by the platform. | Self-custody (source, read 2026-11-03) “You maintain self-custody of your funds until the second you pay.” |
| How a purchase is paid | Spends your CAD balance only; to spend crypto you first sell it for CAD (source, read 2026-10-31) | Spends a CAD card balance; crypto must be sold to CAD and loaded first (“Cards can only be loaded with Canadian dollars”) (source, read 2026-11-01) | Converts supported tokens (mUSD, wETH, USDC, USDT and others on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana) to local currency at checkout (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Apple Pay | Yes (source, read 2026-10-31) | Yes (source, read 2026-11-01) | Yes (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Google Pay | Yes (source, read 2026-10-31) | Yes (source, read 2026-11-01) | Yes (source, read 2026-11-03) |
| Regulatory status | Shakepay Inc. is on the CSA list of authorized crypto trading platforms (decisions May 25, 2023 and Jan 8, 2025); Shakepay states it is a CIRO member registered as an investment dealer in all provinces and territories; FINTRAC MSB M17065696 (source, 2026-09-18) | Foris DAX CAN ULC (Crypto.com) is on the CSA list of authorized crypto trading platforms (decision May 8, 2025) and states it is registered with FINTRAC as a money services business (source, 2026-09-18) | MetaMask is self-custody wallet software from Consensys and is not a Canadian crypto trading platform; it does not appear on the CSA authorized list. The product page does not name the card issuer for Canada (source, 2026-09-18) |
| Last checked | 2026-10-31 | 2026-11-01 | 2026-11-03 |
Crypto card side-by-side compare · Powered by CryptoCards.ca · MITEY