Debit Mastercard · MetaMask (Consensys)

MetaMask Card (Virtual): fees, rewards and fine print

A self-custody crypto debit card: you keep your tokens in your MetaMask wallet until the moment you pay. Canadians can get the free Virtual card, with 1% back in mUSD.

Checked against official sources: November 3, 2026Independent · no affiliate links
Short answer

The MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard debit card: your tokens stay in your MetaMask wallet until you pay, then convert at checkout. Canadians can get the free Virtual card, which pays 1% back in mUSD and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The Metal card is US-only, and the FX fee is not stated.

Figures as of November 3, 2026.
Mitey the yeti talking with an older yeti on a bench
Mitey explains to a friend that with a self-custody card nobody can reset the account: the seed phrase is the account.

Fees

Annual / monthly
Virtual card free (the Metal card, US$199/year, is not offered in Canada) (source, read 2026-11-03)
Foreign currency
Not stated for the Virtual card on the product page (source, read 2026-11-03)
The page lists “No foreign transaction fees” for the Metal card.
ATM
Not applicable: the Virtual card is digital-only (source, read 2026-11-03)
Card issuance / replacement
Virtual card free and activated in the app (source, read 2026-11-03)

Rewards and how they pay out

Headline
1% back in mUSD on the Virtual card (source, read 2026-11-03)
Paid in
mUSD (a US-dollar stablecoin) (source, read 2026-11-03)
When credited
Not stated on the product page (source, read 2026-11-03)
Tiers as published by the issuer. Stake values in CAD are our conversion at the date shown and move with the token’s price.
TierReward rateWhat it requiresMonthly feeForeign currencyReward cap
Virtual1%Free, in the MetaMask app (source, read 2026-11-03)—Not statedNone stated

Where it’s available

Provinces and territories
All provinces and territories (source, read 2026-11-03)
No province exclusions are stated. Confirm in the app before applying.

Custody, spending and wallets

Who holds the crypto
Self-custody (source, read 2026-11-03)
“You maintain self-custody of your funds until the second you pay.”
How a purchase is paid
Converts supported tokens (mUSD, wETH, USDC, USDT and others on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana) to local currency at checkout (source, read 2026-11-03)
Apple Pay
Yes (source, read 2026-11-03)
Google Pay
Yes (source, read 2026-11-03)

Regulatory status

Platform
MetaMask is self-custody wallet software from Consensys and is not a Canadian crypto trading platform; it does not appear on the CSA authorized list. The product page does not name the card issuer for Canada (source, 2026-09-18)

Check the platform yourself on the CSA authorized list. More in who regulates crypto cards.

MetaMask Card on a $1,500 budget
The tier most people would start on, at $1,500 a month in CAD and $150 in foreign currency.
MetaMask Card on a $1,500 budget: inputs, steps and result
Card and tierMetaMask Card
Purchases in CAD$1,500 a month
Purchases in a foreign currency$150 a month
Rewards (at the CAD value when credited)$198.00 a year1% of eligible spend, paid in mUSD
Fixed fees$0.00
Foreign-currency feesnot stated by the issuer
Net a year$198.00No fixed fee to recover.

Open this example in the calculator →Computed 2026-11-03.

What every tier could earn on that budget

$1,500 a month of Canadian purchases and $150 in foreign currency, with rewards valued on the day credited. Use the calculator for your own numbers.

TierRewards / yrFees + FX / yrNet / yr
Virtual$198$0 + FX not stated$198

Before you apply

  • Self-custody means no account recovery: lose your seed phrase and the funds are gone. See security.
  • Spending a token other than a CAD-denominated balance is a disposition for tax each time you pay. See spending crypto with a card.
  • The product page does not state an FX fee, card issuer or reward timing for Canada; check the in-app terms.
  • Rewards are in mUSD, a US-dollar stablecoin: its CAD value moves with the exchange rate, and stablecoins are not CDIC insured.

Official sources for this card

  1. MetaMask — MetaMask Card — no date shown; read November 3, 2026
  2. CSA — Crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians — page dated September 18, 2026

Spot a change?

Tell us if a MetaMask Card fee, reward or rule has changed. Include a link to the issuer’s page if you can.

Your message goes to the MITEY team by email. You won’t be added to the newsletter unless you sign up separately. How submissions are handled: privacy policy.