Compare

Compare crypto cards side by side

Pick up to three. Every cell links to the issuer page it came from. The selection is in the address bar, so you can share it.

Short answer

The three verified cards differ most on custody, reward asset and foreign-currency fees. Shakepay and Crypto.com hold your crypto and spend a CAD balance; MetaMask Card spends tokens from your own wallet. Shakepay pays bitcoin, Crypto.com pays CRO on paid tiers, and MetaMask pays mUSD. Pick two or three below to see every sourced field.

Figures as of November 3, 2026.
Mitey the yeti pointing down at a comparison table
Mitey stands to the right of the table and points at the custody row first, because it changes everything below it.
Pick up to 3 cards
Every figure links to the issuer page it came from, with that page’s date or the date we read it.
FeatureShakepay CardCrypto.com VisaMetaMask Card
TypePrepaid VisaPrepaid VisaDebit Mastercard
Issued byPeoples Trust Company, under licence from Visa; Shakepay distributes and administers the card (source, read 2026-10-31)Digital Commerce Bank, offered by Foris, Inc., under licence from Visa (source, read 2026-11-01)MetaMask (Consensys)
Where availableAll provinces and territories (source, read 2026-10-31)
Shakepay: “Available to all Shakepay customers in all 13 provinces and territories.”
All provinces and territories (source, read 2026-11-01)
Neither the Canadian card page nor the Canadian fees article lists a province exclusion, and the CSA list shows no jurisdiction limit for Foris DAX CAN ULC. Confirm in the app before applying.
All provinces and territories (source, read 2026-11-03)
No province exclusions are stated. Confirm in the app before applying.
Annual / monthly feeNo annual fee (source, read 2026-10-31)Midnight Blue free; Ruby Steel CA$6.99/month or CA$69.90/year, or a CA$650 12-month CRO stake; Royal Indigo/Jade Green CA$39.99/month or CA$399.90/year, or a CA$6,500 stake; Icy White/Rose Gold CA$65,000 stake; Obsidian CA$650,000 stake (source, read 2026-11-01)Virtual card free (the Metal card, US$199/year, is not offered in Canada) (source, read 2026-11-03)
Foreign-currency fee3% (Base), 1.5% (Bright), 0% (Blue) (source, read 2026-10-31)
The cardholder agreement lists a 3% foreign exchange charge; the status discounts are in Shakepay’s help centre.
Midnight 2%; Ruby free on the first CA$700 a month then 2%; Jade/Indigo free on the first CA$1,400 then 2%; higher tiers no fee (source, read 2026-11-01)
Ruby and Jade/Indigo allowances effective September 1, 2026.
Not stated for the Virtual card on the product page (source, read 2026-11-03)
The page lists “No foreign transaction fees” for the Metal card.
ATMNo Shakepay ATM fee listed; ATM operators may charge. Limits: $500 per withdrawal, $1,000 a day; physical card only; no rewards on ATM withdrawals (source, read 2026-10-31)No Crypto.com ATM fee listed in the Canadian fees article; ATM bank fees may apply. Withdrawal limits: C$700/day and C$7,000/month (Midnight), C$1,500/day (Ruby), C$2,500/day (higher tiers), C$15,000/month above Midnight (source, read 2026-11-01)Not applicable: the Virtual card is digital-only (source, read 2026-11-03)
Card issuance / replacementFree to get; virtual card at once, physical card mailed within about 21 days (source, read 2026-10-31)Physical card: Midnight C$4.99; Ruby C$39.99 for monthly subscribers under 6 months (free otherwise). Replacement: Midnight C$10, other cards C$70 (source, read 2026-11-01)Virtual card free and activated in the app (source, read 2026-11-03)
Rewards1% back in bitcoin (1.5% with Blue status) (source, 2026-10-31)0% (Midnight) to 4.5% (Obsidian) in CRO, on capped monthly spend (source, read 2026-11-01)1% back in mUSD on the Virtual card (source, read 2026-11-03)
Paid inBitcoin (BTC) (source, read 2026-10-31)
“Cashback rewards are only issued in bitcoin.”
CRO (Cronos token) (source, read 2026-11-01)
“CRO Rewards are paid in CRO Token to your Wallet App.”
mUSD (a US-dollar stablecoin) (source, read 2026-11-03)
When paidAfter the purchase settles, typically 1–14 days, at the BTC/CAD rate when paid (source, read 2026-10-31)Shortly after an eligible purchase, to your Token Wallet (source, read 2026-11-01)Not stated on the product page (source, read 2026-11-03)
Tiers4 tiers (see profile)7 tiers (see profile)Free, in the MetaMask app
CustodyCustodial (source, read 2026-10-31)
Rewards land in your Shakepay bitcoin balance; you can withdraw them to your own wallet.
Custodial (source, read 2026-11-01)
Rewards are paid to the Crypto.com App wallet held by the platform.
Self-custody (source, read 2026-11-03)
“You maintain self-custody of your funds until the second you pay.”
How a purchase is paidSpends your CAD balance only; to spend crypto you first sell it for CAD (source, read 2026-10-31)Spends a CAD card balance; crypto must be sold to CAD and loaded first (“Cards can only be loaded with Canadian dollars”) (source, read 2026-11-01)Converts supported tokens (mUSD, wETH, USDC, USDT and others on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana) to local currency at checkout (source, read 2026-11-03)
Apple PayYes (source, read 2026-10-31)Yes (source, read 2026-11-01)Yes (source, read 2026-11-03)
Google PayYes (source, read 2026-10-31)Yes (source, read 2026-11-01)Yes (source, read 2026-11-03)
Regulatory statusShakepay Inc. is on the CSA list of authorized crypto trading platforms (decisions May 25, 2023 and Jan 8, 2025); Shakepay states it is a CIRO member registered as an investment dealer in all provinces and territories; FINTRAC MSB M17065696 (source, 2026-09-18)Foris DAX CAN ULC (Crypto.com) is on the CSA list of authorized crypto trading platforms (decision May 8, 2025) and states it is registered with FINTRAC as a money services business (source, 2026-09-18)MetaMask is self-custody wallet software from Consensys and is not a Canadian crypto trading platform; it does not appear on the CSA authorized list. The product page does not name the card issuer for Canada (source, 2026-09-18)
Last checked2026-10-312026-11-012026-11-03
Crypto.com’s free tier on the same $1,500 budget
A free card can still cost money: no rewards and 2% on foreign purchases.
Crypto.com’s free tier on the same $1,500 budget: inputs, steps and result
Card and tierCrypto.com Visa — Midnight Blue
Purchases in CAD$1,500 a month
Purchases in a foreign currency$150 a month
Rewards (at the CAD value when credited)$0.00 a year0% of eligible spend, paid in CRO
Fixed fees$0.00
Foreign-currency fees−$36.00
Net a year−$36.00No fixed fee to recover.

Open this example in the calculator →Computed 2026-11-03.